Heater @ Rest Room

As you already know, I visited Japan (Mar’2006) during those days when every day was getting better for Japanese, 5° C is hot for them, but I was freezing…

Work culture in Japan is really hard, we need to work and only work during office hours, we used to get any time out of the monitor, we wanted a break and some heater at office. Had jackets, suits, sweaters but nothing helped.

I usually avoid visiting rest rooms at office.  But one fine day without any option I had to use it, after which the rest room became a regular visit area 🙂

My first visit to office rest room changed my opinion… do you see the photo above? don’t under estimate the location, this has lots of inbuilt capacity to make you feel relaxed and happy.

One day when I was busy with my colleagues in some discussions, I had to take a break to go to rest room. Unwillingly when I entered the rest room for the first time, I was surprised to see the handle attached and everything was in Japanese. Initially all I was searching was for some water outlet, I couldn’t find one, you can understand how much time will be there to do R&D at restroom when nature is calling you high time. “forget water”….. aaaaaah ! done.

You see the handle to the left? that’s a remote key for most of the operations. I then started looking at the key buttons to my right side, since I had no other option but to press each one and try. I pressed the first key, within no time started feeling warm later I found out that the base I was sitting on was actually electronically heated. Wow ! just imagine when the temperature outside is freezing and you get a warm place to sit how it would feel… lol. My finger moved to the second button and hot water bounced up with high speed hitting my <BEEP>, with a low “ooch” i got up wondering how to switch off the water, randomly pressed some keys and water stopped. Back to position I moved to next button, this time water was slow and only as much required, with the next button I could control the angle in which the water was spit out and its speed. Lastly there was one button to shut all the operation down. I repeatedly checked all the keys, (basically system tested it) and learnt about the keys and their functions. By the time I could come out of the rest room it was almost 30 mins.

When I returned to my desk, colleagues started asking me “Saale, where were you so long?” then I told them about my finding and experience… no wonder they immediately rushed to experience themselves.

Then it became a routine to visit the rest room not for nature call but for heating the body…  every day a few minutes in rest room.. If we are not seen in office, then it was known were to search.

Japanese had a hifi setup too, the restroom had auto lights on and off system. With this system, if we sit in rest room for long time, the light was on and disturbing, I did try to find out if there was a way to switch that off.. but in vain.

Now every time I visit a new place I make sure to visit the rest room, so far couldn’t find a place as exciting as that…

Kabhi kabhi mere dil mein khayaal aata hai.. Ki jaise tujhko banaya gaya hai mere liye..

About Naveen L Nanjundappa

~Know me know fun, no me no fun~
This entry was posted in Sapta sagaradaache yello. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heater @ Rest Room

  1. sharanu says:

    nice one could not control lol

  2. Chetan says:

    this was something amazing thing there in Japan. A warm seat and splashing hot water… though i didnt struggle like u did 😛

Leave a comment